My Cart


Passage Studies, Book 3

adapted by Frederick Thurston

Composer: Frederick Thurston

Publisher: Boosey & Hawkes


Movement/Section Duration: N/A
  • This edition is Book 3 in a series of 3; the other parts of the series are available from the same publisher:
    Book 1
    Book 2

    Prelude & Fugue for Organ in G Minor
    Johann Sebastian Bach
    Toccata, from Harpsichord Sonata in A Major, P 893.06
    Pietro Domenico Paradies
    Study on Two Themes from the Piano Sonata No. 6 in F Major, Op. 10 No. 2
    From the 10 Variations for Piano on 'La stessa, la stessissima' from 'Falstaff,' WoO 73
    Ludwig van Beethoven
    Impromptu in E♭, from 4 Impromptus, D. 899
    Franz Schubert
    From 'Presto agitato' for Piano, WoO 6
    From the Scherzo from 'Midsummer Night's Dream,' Op. 61
    Felix Mendelssohn
    From Symphony No. 1 in B♭ Major, Op. 38 'Spring'
    From Symphony No. 4, Op. 120
    Robert Schumann
    Study on a Theme from the Clarinet Quintet, Op. 115
    Johannes Brahms
    Tarantella on a Russian Folksong
    Mikhail Glinka
    Variation III from Piano Trio, Op. 50
    Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky
    Study on Clarinet Themes from 'Salome'
    Richard Strauss
    From Dances of Galánta
    Zoltán Kodály
    From No. 1 of Six Dances in Bulgarian Rhythm (Mikrokosmos Vol. 6)
    Béla Bartók
    Polka from the ballet "The Age of Gold"
    Dmitri Shostakovich

    Frederick John Thurston (1901 – 1953) was an English clarinettist.  Book 3 of Passage Studies consists of 16 studies based on music not originally for the clarinet (with some exceptions), and in Thurston's words from the preface, "...freely adapted without impairing their proper musical significance."  They are technical in nature, and for each study, Thurston indicates a specific problem to be the focus of practice.  These include legato, staccato, seconds, octaves, wide intervals, difficult scales, broken chords, phrasing, triplets, accidentals, left-hand little finger, scherzando style, and Hungarian (Kodály) style.  Orchestral players will notice that a handful of the studies adapt common excerpts, including Mendelssohn's Scherzo and Kodály Galánta Dances.

    Quick facts
    Length: all but one exercise are 1 or 2 pages (1 is 4 pages)
    Range: highest pitch = written B6
    Key signature: no ♯/♭, 1♯, 2♯, 3♯, 4♯, 1♭, 2♭, 3♭, 4♭, 5♭
    Time signature: 2/4, 3/4, 3/8, 4/4, 9/8, 12/8

    Most of the studies are in 2/4 and 4/4 time.  The majority of the key signatures have no sharps/flats or stay within 2 sharps/flats, although there are numerous accidentals.  Most of the études substantially use the altissimo register, in many cases going above G6.  The Passage Studies present a consistent difficulty appropriate for the intermediate clarinettist, and are organized in a chronological order, starting with Bach and finishing with Shostakovich; this wide-spread historical representation offers a great variety of musical styles.

    Thurston has included markings for suggested metronome, breaths, and side/pinky key use.

  • Performer / Ensemble Link Comments
    • Performer / Ensemble
    • Link
    • Comments
    • Performer / Ensemble
    • Link
    • Comments
    • Performer / Ensemble
    • Link
    • Comments
    • Performer / Ensemble
    • Link
    • Comments
    • Performer / Ensemble
    • Link
    • Comments
    • Performer / Ensemble
    • Link
    • Comments
  • Pages: 26

    Pages (score):

    Publisher Code: M060028212

    UPC: 073999654097


    ISMN: 9790060028212

    Length: 30.4 cm

    Width: 23.1 cm

    Thickness: 0.238 cm

    Weight: 118 g